Gone with the wind … but not forgotten

This is by far the best book ever written!  (In my humble opinion).  I also say this with some apprehension because I have never read the book but I have watched the movie more than once!  And if the movie is anything to go by, the book will definitely live up to the standards of being called remarkable.

I remember the first time I heard about this movie.  It was at christmas time in either 1984 or 1985.  The movie was played on television the one night and out of pure boredom I decided to sit and watch this lengthy movie.  Much to my amazement I enjoyed this OLD movie.  It is safe to say that it was at this point in life that I finally realised that I love the old classic movies.

I can’t really recall as to how many times I have watched this movie but I eventually bought the book.  From the first words in the first chapter, you get so captivated that you know as you know there is no putting down this book until the last word has been read.

For this reason only, I have not read the book because I do not have enough time to read this from start to finish.  It seems unfair to me to pick up such a phenomenal book and not read it to the end. 🙂

I know, I know this sound ridiculous right? I would like to share the opening lines of Chapter 1 with you all:

Scarlet O’Hara was not beautiful, but men seldom realized it when caught by her charm as the Tarleton twins were.  In her face were too sharply blended the delicate features of her mother, a Coast aristocrat of French descent, and the heavy ones of her florid Irish father.  But it was an arresting face, pointed of chin, square of jaw.  Her eyes were pale green without a touch of hazel, starred with bristly black lashes and slightly tilted at the ends.  Above them, her thick black brows slanted upward, cutting a startling oblique line in her magnolia-white skin-that skin so prized by Southern women and so carefully guarded with bonnets, veils and mittens against hot Georgia suns.

Aahh what can I say.  This book is firmly planted on my number 1 list for best book, best film and best author.  This book was published the first time in 1936 and now 75 years later it is still widely read and watched.  Now folks, that is what we call a classic.

Maybe one day when I grow up I will produce a novel which 75 years down the line will still be considered a smashing success!  But until then I will blog away and hone my skills as a writer!

I leave you with a photo of Scarlet O’Hara played by Vivian Leigh.  Such beauty!

2 thoughts on “Gone with the wind … but not forgotten

Leave a Reply

