Gordon Ramsay – Humble Pie

To start by saying ‘what a book’ is such a cliche, but WHAT A BOOK!
When I got to the last page I was hugely disappointed. I paged backwards and forwards hoping there was something I missed, a page or maybe a full chapter that I skipped.
But nothing!
As you can gather I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This was my first autobiography I read and I am apprehensive of reading the next persons autobiography because I don’t think it will captivate me in the same way.

I know that not all of you will agree with me because let’s face it – the first time I heard Ramsay on television I was shocked. How can you talk to people like that?
But I continued watching and I can in all honesty state that I am glad I did. I love the shows ‘Kitchen Nightmares and Hell’s Kitchen’.
So when I was browsing in the bookstore recently, my husband saw the book and suggested I take it. His words were’Come on, you love Gordon Ramsay!’
And so I bought my first ever autobiography. From the first chapter to the last it was conversational, easy to read and an eye opener.
From his unstable childhood to his immense success, it is all there. I must admit that when I read the chapter where he shares about what his father did to his mother, I had flashbacks to my abusive relationship from way back then. I had to put the book down, walk away and gather myself before I could continue.

I understand now why Gordon Ramsay reacts the way he does. He does not ever want to fail, and he has a passion for what he does. You have to do what you are passionate about.
Cooking was not his first passion, but when he entered into the world of cooking he had only one goal and it was to be successful!
I am not going to give away to much on the book, but if you have seen Ramsay on the television, go read his book and get a glimpse behind the scenes.
Mr Ramsay I salute you and may you achieve the Michelin stars which will surpass Alain Ducasse.

Leave a Reply

