The Gift Of The Magi and other short stories – O.Henry

Whenever I hold a new book in my hand, I form an opinion of what the book will be like.  I look at the cover, the font and layout and decide whether I will like this book or not.

When I received my book ‘The Gift of the Magi and other short stories’, I studied the book for a while but could not decide what to think of the book.  I tossed it onto the bedside table and there it lay for weeks, maybe months.

I am not sure how much time have passed but I eventually picked up the book and started the first story, ‘The Gift of the Magi’, and I was hooked after the first paragraph.

One dollar and eighty-seven cents.  That was all.  And sixty cents of it was in pennies.  Pennies saved one and two at a time by bulldozing the grocer and the vegetable man and the butcher until one’s cheeks burned with the silent imputation of parsimony that such close dealing implied.  Three times Della counted it.  One dollar and eighty-seven cents.  And the next day would be Christmas.

I couldn’t stop reading!  Yes, I know that is such a cliché, but I could not stop reading!  I am afraid that my review will not do justice to this brilliant writing, but I will take a swing at it.

The Gift of the Magi is a heart-warming story of love, sacrifice and commitment.  If you truly love someone you will do anything to see them happy, even if it means getting rid of your prized possession.

When I finished the story, I sat in awe for a few minutes.  I was stunned, in myself, for not picking up this book sooner and enjoying it.  I read the one story after the next and realized that I was running out of stories to read… and that made me stop.

I know, I know – that is weird J.  But I realized that if I continue reading, I am going to finish the book and I don’t have any more O.Henry material in the house!

All the stories are thoroughly enjoyable.  Some are filled with humour and some are sad, but they all make for wonderful reading, but don’t just take my word for it.

If you have NEVER read O.Henry, do yourself a favour and get your hands on his work.  It is brilliant!

Leave a Reply

