The Prayer Of Jabez Devotional – Bruce Wilkinson

I found myself going through a rather depressing time and when my eye caught The Prayer Of Jabez Devotional by Bruce Wilkinson, my hand instinctively reached out and picked up the book. I always read to escape and I was in desperate need of escape and what better way than reading the prayer of Jabez.

The prayer of Jabez is based on the scripture 1 Chronicles 4 verses 9 – 10 ‘Jabez was more honorable than his brothers. His mother named him Jabez, saying, “I gave birth to him in pain.” Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, saying, “Oh that you would bless me indeed and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from the evil one.” And God granted his request. (NIV)

I have read some other reviews on this book and I believe them to be unfair. This is not a quick fix book. There is no recipe in there to follow a certain number of steps and God will make you rich – it doesn’t work like that! Not once does this book insinuate that this is a get rich quick book so I am not sure how the other readers got to that conclusion.

This is a book which will provide you with guidelines to walk a lifelong path with God. The book is well-written and easy to understand. Throughout the book the author uses scenarios to explain certain feelings and emotions we encounter and I had to smile to myself, as there were a few scenarios which seemed that it came directly out of my life. The lessons taught in this book are biblical and it is written to encourage the reader to grow in both their relationship and in their walk with God.

So, if you are looking for something ‘uplifting’ to read, and you are ready to stretch your faith muscles, this book is for you.

I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Source: The Prayer Of Jabez Devotional – Bruce Wilkinson

Leave a Reply

